Who’s who on the Local Board

The school shares a Local Board with Seagry Primary School and Somerfords’ Walter Powell Primary School.  All three schools are members of the Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust.

The structure creates an opportunity for high quality governance. The Local Board has a strategic perspective and the ability to compare and contrast between the schools. It enables us to fully realise the sustained benefits of school-to-school collaboration, which include: a richer and wider curriculum; better professional development and career progression opportunities for staff, and better retention of key staff as a result; financial efficiency; and better prospects for pupils.

Foundation Local Board Members

Julia Harle (ex-officio) – Julia Harle is recently retired from teaching. She has worked in education for 22 years and has been a headteacher in both village and town primary schools for 12 years. She has lived in Seagry since 2001 and is an active member of St Mary’s Church, Seagry. Julia is passionate about primary and early years education and the role of village primary schools in their local community. She is a Trustee of The Rise Children’s Centre and is Chair of Chippenham’s Multi Agency Forum. She loves to garden, read and spin (wool). Julia is Chair of the Curriculum and Standards Committee.  Julia is one of the Local Board members focusing on the school development priorities related to Pupil Attainment and SEN.

RaynaRayna McDonald – Rayna has one child at Christian Malford School in Year 2.  She and her family live in the village of Christian Malford and are active in supporting the local community.  Rayna has spent the last 30 years in the health and social care sector and  held a number of Director and Senior Management roles mainly in the NHS, She brings  extensive strategic, people and operational experience to the Local Board.  Rayna’s professional background is nursing and she has worked in a range of clinical, management and academic positions in various NHS and academic organisations. Rayna is also Chair of Friends of Acorns the Pre–school attached to Christian Malford School. She is on the Staffing and Pay Committee and is one of the Local Board members linked with the school development priorities for English

Vacancy Foundation Member – Following Margaret Palmer’s resignation we have a vacancy for a Foundation Member.

Community Local Board Members

Claire Kennedy (Chair) – Claire has one child at Christian Malford School in Year 6.  She was a Trustee of Acorns Pre-school for five years until October 2013 and Chair for the last two years.  Claire is a Chartered Accountant and runs her own practice locally.  Claire is organised, determined and keen on clear, open communication which stands her in good stead for her role.  Claire is Chair of the Staffing and Pay Committee and also sits on DBAT’s Finance and Audit Committee.  Claire is one of the Local Board members linked to the School Development priorities for Early Years Foundation Stage and Pre-schools.

Richard Jefferson (Vice-Chair) – Rich has two children, one in Year 4 at Somerfords’ Walter Powell School and one in Year 1.  After more than 20 years working in London and New York in Investment Banking, Rich and his family have settled in Great Somerford.  Rich holds an MA in Maths and Management Studies. Rich is a speaker and facilitator for the Ambition Schools Leadership “Executive Educators” programme on finance and risk management; he is a mentor at the University of Bath Innovation Centre and is CFO for a New York based Fintech company, Beacon Platform.  Rich is Chair of the Resources Committee and is one of the Local Board members linked with the school development priorities for Maths.

Elaine Photo

Elaine Naughton – Elaine has one child at Seagry School.  Elaine was previously a governor for over 5 years before becoming Chair of the Friends Of Seagry School (FOSS) for 3 years. A Chartered Engineer by profession, Elaine served for 20 years in the Royal Air Force before entering the private sector 5 years ago as a transformation specialist. Returning to the Local Board in 2016, Elaine is on the Resources Committee and is the Link member for Art, DT and Music.

Vacancies Community Member – Following resignations we have a vacancy for a Christian Malford Community Member.

Parent Local Board Members

Benn GriffinBenn Griffin – Benn has one child in Reception at Somerfords’ Walter Powell School.  He has been a secondary school maths teacher for 16 years and is currently an assistant principal leading on data and student outcomes at a school in Swindon.  Benn is also interested in supporting his local community.  He is passionate about teaching and values our education system.  Benn is on the Curriculum and Standards Committee and is one of the link Local Board members linked to Safeguarding and SEN.


Staff Local Board Members

img_0441-2Andrea Kaye (Executive Headteacher) – Andrea has over 25 years’ experience in education and training, spending over 15 years’ working in primary schools.  Having previously worked in a large town primary school environment, Andrea joined Christian Malford in 2014 bringing with her a wealth of teaching and leadership skills.  After becoming Head of School at Christian Malford, Andrea then became Deputy Executive Headteacher across the three school partnership, taking over permanent Executive Headship in February 2019 as well as continuing her role as Head of School at Christian Malford. Andrea is a member of all three committees.

IMG_0835Su Johns (Christian Malford) – Su works as a school secretary/admin officer for 15 years and since 2016 has worked in the school offices of Christian Malford and Somerfords’ Walter Powell.  Prior to this she worked as a PA in the private sector.  Su is a member of the Resources Committee.


Lisa Shibley (Somerfords’ Walter Powell) – Lisa is Head of School at Somerfords’ Walter Powell.  She has taught at the school since 2008 and became Head in 2017. Lisa has been a member of the Local Board on and off during this period and is now a member of the Curriculum and Standards Committee.

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 13.36.37Emily Edmondson (Seagry) – Emily is Head of School at Seagry and SeNCo across the three schools.  Her children have attended both Seagry and Somerford’s Walter Powell schools.  Emily has been teaching at Seagry for more than 10 years and has been Special Needs Co – ordinator for more than 5 years. Emily is keen to ensure that our three schools offer an inclusive education for all.  She also works closely with the Pre-school at Seagry and is passionate about Early Years education.  Emily has been part of the team to enhance the pre- school and school setting to make it the popular choice of education that it is today.  Emily is a member of the Curriculum and Standards Committee.

Clerk – Jemma Pugh is clerk to the Local Board and has two sons at Christian Malford School, one in year 4 and one in year 2.

One thought on “Who’s who on the Local Board

Comments are closed.